"improving intensive care in Scotland"

The Scottish Critical Care Trials Group

Current Chair: Dr Malcolm Sim

The SCCTG evolved from groups of intensive care professionals interested in collaborating to carry out high quality clinical research into critical illness into a network of researchers covering all of Scotland. They have been active since 2003.

The group now comprises members from all healthcare specialties, and is run by an executive committee with representatives from all four regions, in line with its own constitution. The Executive meets three times a year.

The current members of the executive committee are:


  • Malcolm Sim, Western Infirmary, Glasgow (Chair)
  • Alan Davidson, Victoria Infirmary, Glasgow
  • Tara Quasim, Glasgow Royal Infirmary

NORTH: Highlands, Grampian, and Tayside

  • Stephen Cole, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee
  • Jan Jansen, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
  • Jonathan Whiteside, Raigmore Hospital, Inverness

EAST: Lothian, Borders and Fife

  • Tim Walsh, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
  • Anthony Bateman, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh
  • Michael Gillies, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
  • Marcia McDougall, Queen Margaret Hospital, Dunfermline

WEST: Dumfries & Galloway, Ayrshire & Arran, Lanarkshire, and Forth Valley

  • Jim Ruddy, Monklands Hospital, Lanarkshire
  • Jonathan Richards, Stirling Royal Infirmary
  • Dewi Williams, Dumfries Royal Infirmary

Read the SCCTG Constitution here

SCCTG logo

Malcolm Sim

Contact us

email Malcolm on


The Combined SICSAG & SCCTG Meeting will be back in 2017

More details on the Trials Group 2016 activities will follow soon...

Combined meeting 2014 audience